The focus should be on the text, even if you’re J.K. Rowlings

Back in the swing of things, more or less 🙂

Procrastination is an art, as they say (they as in, well, me). In order to provide you with yet another way to procrastinate – whatever your reasons – here’s a link to something I stumble upon: Bublish.

I haven’t used it yet, but it looks like a good way to pass some time, if you’re a reader and/or writer. I like its focus on text (‘bublished’ by the writer, read by the reader), which is how it should always be: it’s the story, the words that count, for me. I like the author’s option of choosing and uploading a passage, and commenting on her work. And I like the chance for readers to read the excerpts, find that gem, that new author to follow.

Something of a social media, I suppose, but with a lot less personal details and less futile distractions: the front page says Social Book Discovery. Again, the focus is on the text. If you decide to try it, let me know! I don’t have a full book to upload yet, but as a reader, I’ll be there. The simple, clean look is attractive as well 😀

It may seem a lateral jump, but this brings me to mention J.K. Rowlings new book: The Casual Vacancy. I haven’t read the book yet, I will at some point. I read some reviews, some mildly positive, some mildly negative, some clearly written just to fill space and show the Potter ‘verse knowledge and wittiness of the writer.

Someone asked if her book would have ended up in the slush pile, without her name on it. Most books do nowadays, so I think yes, it would have. Doesn’t mean it’s not a good book, or necessarily a bad one. What it does say, it’s that name branding counts for a lot, these days, and I don’t think it should.

What do you think? If you were J.K., do you want to test your writing skills all over, once again? Would you change your name, so reviewers wouldn’t have anything else to comment on but the text? Would you care at all? 😀

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Links, Social Media, Writing

Leave a Reply

