Films Adaptation of Books

I remember watching The Remains of the Day. By chance, a late night on the telly.

I remember looking for the book, written by Kazuo Ishiguro. Reading it.

I remember being blown away by both, and thinking for the first time, yes, it can be done, a beautiful, strong, suggestive book can be turned into a beautiful, strong, suggestive film.

Many other books and many other films later, results have been controversial. I’m completely in love, besotted, head over heels with We Need to talk about Kevin by Lionel Shriver (I must have read it ten times, by now, and I always read it twice in one go). I was anxious and excited about the film, and when I finally watched it, I had mixed feelings. I could see what they were trying to do, and appreciated. But it didn’t and probably couldn’t convey the subtleties and nuances of the book. I daresay non-readers of the book may not be impressed at all.

I may well be in the minority, but I loved The Road film as much as I loved the book by Cormac McCarthy: harsh, dark, hopeless, where every single breath, every flicker of fire can give your life away. Viggo Mortesen was an added bonus, but the story was all there, in its brutality.

More books are being turned into films (yes, yes, the Twilights and the Hungers Games notwithstanding).

I’m looking forward to these ones. Fingers crossed 🙂

Revealed: The unfilmables.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

