The best laid plans

I spent January and February getting more confident with social media and Twitter in particular. I was also sieged by snow for the whole of February (the first three weeks of constant snow-falling in Italy since 1956!).

So I made plans. The best plans always go astray, don’t they? March was dedicated to planning, and exercising my back’s muscles – it doesn’t seem like a lot, but it was, and it was painful, too.

April was when I would start implementing my best plans:

1) Follow My Name is Not Bob‘s April Blog Writing Challenge.

2) Rewrite the second draft of my historical lit  Cronenberg-does-Victoriana novel.

Ops. The best plans.

Two family emergencies*, two different people in hospital, set of two grand-kids to look after.

My Name is Not Bob’s April Challenge it’s up to day 7 now, so I need to catch up to seven days of it, whereas my novel’s second draft is looking at me with Gothic-tainted menacing (virtual) eyes.

But. I will catch up. I will sit here tonight when everyone is (finally) in bed and catch up. Watch this space, and feel free to share your horror stories concerning the best plans and the devilish stratagems the gods come up with in order to change them.

*luckily, both are now recovering.

Robert Burns’ poem To a Mouse, 1786

But, Mousie, thou art no thy lane [you aren’t alone]
In proving foresight may be vain:
The best laid schemes o’ mice an’ men
Gang aft a-gley, [often go awry]
An’ lea’e us nought but grief an’ pain,
For promised joy.

John Steinback used this poem as the source for his 1937 novel’s title: Of Mice and Men

Robert Burns John Steinbeck

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging

Leave a Reply

