Review: Don DeLillo’s Cosmopolis

deadmachinery:

Definitely on my To Read list, although at some point I’ll have to prioritize it. Thanks to Ever for the review :)

Originally posted on blood on forgotten walls:

Cosmopolis

After reading Cosmopolis, my first DeLillo, I’m convinced my reading and writing life will be clearly demarcated as pre-DeLillo and post-DeLillo. Piles of books waiting to be read are teetering either side of me as I write this, and our bookshelves are overflowing (I found a book in the fridge yesterday, obviously fiction is best served chilled), yet temptation is wiggling it’s book-shaped ass at me. I’m trying to resist, but I’m pretty sure I’ll twitch my DeLillo-starved self to the nearest library/bookstore to get my hands on his back-catalogue after immersing myself in the wonderful prose and brilliantly perverse dialogue of Cosmopolis.

Packer, an asset manager billionaire living in Manhattan, crawls through the gridlocked streets in his white sound-proofed technology-laden stretch-limo. He’s going to get a haircut at his childhood barbers, and on the way he has various encounters. His interactions with other characters can hardly even…

View original 709 more words

1 Comment

Filed under Authors, Review

One response to “Review: Don DeLillo’s Cosmopolis

  1. thanks for the reblog, Sil. Glad you liked it. I’ve just got my hands on several other DeLillo’s – can’t wait to curl up with them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

